Skip to Main content Skip to Navigation
March 3-5, 2003, INRIA Sophia-Antipolis, France

Dedicated to the 20th Anniversary of INRIA Sophia-Antipolis

Workshop Objectives

The workshop is intended to bring together leading researchers from both academia and industry to present both foundations and practical methods and tools for modeling and optimisation of mobile and ad-hoc networks.
The workshop will bring together researchers studying optimisation issues of mobile networks from both the network performance and the mobile networking perspectives.

WiOpt'03 is organised in conjunction with MADNET 2003.

Workshop Topics
  1. Mobile Network Optimisation: Applications and Algorithms
  2. Performance characterisation and optimisation of mobile/wireless networks and systems
  3. Protocols design (MAC, Routing) for optimal mobile network utilisation
  4. Tools for network optimisation
  5. Energy efficiency in mobile networks
  6. Security and co-operation models for mobile networks
  7. Pricing and incentives in mobile and ad-hoc networks.

Program Committee

          Program Co-Chairs: Eitan Altman (INRIA, France) and Anthony Ephremides (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Konstantin Avrachenkov, (INRIA, France)
  • Francois Baccelli, (INRIA and ENS, France)
  • Tamer Basar, (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Andrew Campbell, (Columbia University, USA)
  • Imrich Chlamtac, (University of Texas at Dallas, USA)
  • A. Chockalingam, (Indian Institute of Science, India)
  • Marco Conti, (National Research Council, Italy)
  • Jon Crowcroft, (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Jerome Galtier, (France Telecom, France)
  • Silvia Giordano, (EPFL, Switzerland)
  • Stephen V. Hanly, (University of Melbourne, Australia)
  • Jean-Pierre Hubaux, (EPFL, Switzerland)
  • Phililppe Jacquet, (INRIA, France)
  • Anurag Kumar, (Indian Institute of Science, India)
  • Ravi Mazumdar, (Purdue University, USA)
  • Philippe Nain, (INRIA, France)
  • R. Srikant, (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Ness Shroff, (Purdue University, USA)
  • Yoshikuni Onozato, (Gunma University, Japan)
  • Sven Östring, (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Violet Syrotiuk, (Arizona State University, USA)
  • Leandros Tassiulas, (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Thierry Turletti, (INRIA, France)
  • Jeff Wieselthier, (Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Wing S. Wong, (Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)

Organizing Committee
  • General Chairman: Jon Crowcroft (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Publicity Co-Chairs: Silvia Giordano (EPFL, Switzerland) and Sven Östring (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Local Arrangement and Registration Chair: Konstantin Avrachenkov (INRIA, France)
  • Treasurer: Monique Simonetti (INRIA, France)


logo University of Cambridge logo IEEE logo IEEE Information Theory Society logo INRIA Sophia logo ACM> logo France Telecom>

Photo: © INRIA / Photo S. Ephraim
Réalisation Service IST INRIA Sophia Antipolis Méditerranée / Laboratoire I3S